1. CUT:

The cut refers not to a diamond shape but to a diamond's proportions, symmetry and polish. Cut is one of the most important things when considering a diamond purchase because the beauty of the diamond can depend on the cut. Diamond cut has three effects on appearance: brilliance (the brightness created by all of the white light reflections from the surface + inside of a polished diamond), fire (the dispersion of light into the colors of the visible spectrum, known as the fire) and scintillation (the flashes of light and dark, or sparkle, when a diamond is moved). Cut overall impacts the way light travels through the diamond and creates the sparkle in the stone.

Diamond Cut

Diamond Carat


Carat is the size of the stone. You have a lot of flexibility here to choose what fits your personality and overall budget for the piece. While this is a very personal choice, we typically see an average range of 1/2 to 2 carats for an engagement ring.


Clarity is the rating of the internal and external quality of the stone. Stones rated with "I" have visible inclusions, but all stones rated "SI" or above have only internal inclusions that require a powerful magnifier to find. The grades are "I, SI, VS, VVS, IF". SI-1 tends to be the most popular in regards to price per clarity.

Diamond Clarity

Diamond Color


Last, but certainly not least, is the color of the diamond you want. Diamonds are rated from D to Z. Stones in the D through F range are completely colorless. F through J is near colorless, and the grade range where you will find 90% of most good quality diamonds. As the grade goes from K to Z, the color gets yellower and finally brown. G through I is an average color range of where people purchase their diamonds. There are also fancier diamonds in many hues, but these tend to be more rare and at a higher price point.